Dear all Western Australian innovators and supporters of the Lateral INCITE Awards, 

As you would be aware, we are facing unprecedented times in light of our local and global efforts to contain COVID-19.

By this time, I am sure you have been receiving many emails from companies, organisations, the Government and businesses in regards to their COVID-19 message and way forward.

At the INCITE Awards, our priority is on showcasing the innovation that lives here in Western Australia and helping you – our innovators – shine. 

In the face of COVID-19 and as our INCITE Awards Committee work through the expert Federal, State Government and Chief Medical Officers’ advice to effectively develop our “going forward” message, this priority remains strongly in our line vision. 

As you would be aware, aspects of the Lateral INCITE Awards’ involve face to face events such as our face to face judging and of course, the grand Gala Dinner and Awards Night.

With the Prime Minister’s recent announcement of banning gatherings of 500 people or more, and also with our own duty of care in sight, the Awards Committee is meeting this Thursday to discuss how we will make sure:

  • We follow all expert health advice and Government requirements for future events that are part of the 29th Lateral INCITE Awards;

  • That we leverage the innovation and technology that exist amongst us to develop creative solutions that will continue to support our State’s ICT and tech industry, and its people;

  • That we continue to honour and value our sponsors’ contributions to our Awards program. 

Following our Committee meeting, we will be sending out advice via our newsletter, on our social channels and direct conversations with key stakeholders.

In the meantime, I would like to assure you all that we – the INCITE Awards Committee – are working behind the scenes to make sure that our 29th Awards remain strong and in operational, in the safest and most responsible way. 

I look forward to sharing the advice soon.


Sue Findlay

Chair, Lateral INCITE Awards